A thread for the Texas folks

Not sure how many NLU’ers we got here in the Lone Star state, but would love to discuss some of the golf course gems we have. I’m a DFW resident (born and raised) who just graduated from Baylor back in May. I feel like I’ve barely scratched the surface in terms of playing some of the great tracks all over the state, but was fortunate to grow up playing a pretty cool course in Vaquero. I’m kind of a newbie to golf course architecture but really interested in where some of the great tracks are in Texas apart from all of the usual top 20 lists. Maybe we can get a group to tee it up sometime in the future.

18 Likes

I’m also from Texas. Live in East Texas about 1.5 hours from DFW. I’m an Aggie but since you’re an avid golfer like myself I won’t hold it against you. A short list of ones I have played that I liked are

Pine Dunes
Twin Lakes
Links at Lands End
Garden Valley

Pine Dunes is always a top 3 course in Texas you can play so it speaks for itself.
Twin lakes actually shut down this past July because of storms that hit it so hard. It was on 2 lakes surrounded by a tree nursery and was the hardest course I have ever played to this day from the tips if the wind was blowing at all. Wish they would reopen it. Links at Lands End is on Lake Fork which is near Yantis and Quitman,TX. It is a cool little course with about 8 holes right on the lake. If the wind is up off the lake it can get tricky in a hurry. Lastly, Garden Valley is a really good course off I20 right before you get to Tyler,TX. It use to be an amazing track, but conditions have kind of gone down. It’s still really nice with a variety of different holes.

Hope this helps.

3 Likes

I’m down in Houston. Have not played much in the metroplex yet. The architecture nerds seem pretty amped over Trinity Forest. I have also heard rave reviews of Whispering Pines GC.

2 Likes