Strokes gained --- for a bogey golfer?

Really enjoyed the latest pod, but wondering the practicality of tracking strokes gained data and more importantly, using that data to improve. I’m relatively new to golf and it has been a gradual process to get down to playing bogey-ish golf, but knowing that life, work, kid(s), etc is all competing for course and range time, I’d love anything to focus my practice efforts and maximize what time I have to see the most improvement.

I know Golfmetrics (from Mark Brodie) has a subscription app that looks tough to use. There is the Taylormade MyRoundPro app that is free and has an interface like Arccos/GameGolf (but without the sensors).

Anyone dabbled in something more in depth that the standard stats?

So I’ve thought the same, and after listening to the pod I took my professional skills (excel) and re created a strokes gained calculator. After inputting my home course yardage and creating a data set for the SG benchmark. I got a ROUGH average score of 67.5. Well, I’m not a pro and I don’t think my breakeven SG is 68, so I reverse engineered the whole benchmark to solve for 75, a score that I would always be very pleased with on my home course. I’m assuming I plug in +18 on there and you can figure out the benchmark for bogey golf.

There are severe limitations to this, my home course is not conditioned like the tour, but as @Soly said on the pod I’ve actually now seen really surprising data on what drives my score: I’m a better putter than I thought, and I am devastatingly inaccurate off the tee.

It actually drove me to hack off 1” of a driver shaft to hit more fairways, seeing that’s probabaly my number 1 takeaway from my experiment.