Scotland's newest links - Dumbarnie

I thought there might be some interest in some pictures of Dumbarnie Links which is the newest course in Scotland, due to open fully next year. So far, I believe some journalists, pros and possibly greenstaff have played it.

https://dumbarnielinks.com/golf-course/

It’s just round the coast from Elie and is pitching itself as a competitor to Kingsbarns so quite hefty green fees of around £250.

I’m a member at Elie so took the opportunity to pop round back in August and took some pictures (I’m also a drone pilot and like to do some course photography).

Clive Clarke was the designer and it’s quite interesting, architecturally. They had to build the dunes and then created a lot of holes with two options of the tee. Very much risk/reward and looks fun.

Here are some images.

![DJI_0075|666x500]

20 Likes

Looks sick but what moron named this place?

8 Likes

:joy: I think the course is named after the dunes that was there before. So someone a few hundred years ago.

Great photos but I don’t like the look of it. Split fairways, lots of water, white, shallow bunkers, cheesy risk/reward… You could transpose a lot of that to a desert course and it would fit just as well.

2 Likes

Our group has a Dumbarnie/Elie day scheduled for May. Should be a real contrast in courses.

1 Like

The white sand in those bunkers is really throwing me off and looks out of place compared to everything else. I’m getting way more Kiawah Island vibes than Scotland.

1 Like

Yeah, it’s certainly not a traditional links.
I hadn’t thought about the sand until now, but you’re right - don’t think it’s like anything local! Although, I don’t think they’re all shallow. Definitely some deeper and pot bunkers in there. The drone height wouldn’t do them any favours.

Beautiful pics man, great job. Looks like a fun layout no doubt.

1 Like