Roll Call: Continental Europe- hosting The II. RACDG Charlemagne Cup June 17-18

Hi Refugees, anyone here from Munich (or Germany, even)?
Would love to find a game in the area or maybe even organize a larger meetup down the road.
Let me know!

10 Likes

Wow…NLU Germany.

Wie geht’s? Willkommen in der Zuflucht!! Wie heisen sie?

Hi - Ich heiĂźe David!
Sorry for being rude and not putting that in the original post…

Been a fan of NLU ever since the original Rory interview in 2016 - so I’m a veteran in consuming content while only lurking on here so far. Rooting hard for Team Europe every Ryder Cup and recently embarassed myself trying to push Soly to talk about Kaymer after apparantly not listening to the round 1 podcast properly.

Can’t find any other posts about Golf in Germany so far - let’s change that!

1 Like

Born in Germany at a British RAF base (Wegberg) due to folks being stationed out there, and support Die Mannschaft as I like to wind my friends up when it comes to soccer… World Cup 2010 & 14 was fun, 2018 not so much :joy: I don’t speak the language, though, having only lived there until I was 3 months old…

How hard is the Platzreife to obtain?! It’s mainly a handicap/etiquette test if I understand correctly? Is it much of a barrier to play over there, or does it help to “shrink the game” (shoutout @Randy) to an enjoyable level?

2 Likes

What’s platzreife? Sorry to intrude, not a German. I visited Munich in 2015 though and would love to go back to Bavaria with my golf clubs sometime.

1 Like

It’s definitely shrinking the game - Randy would be so proud.
Not really hard to obtain (can be done in a 4-day crash course, usually 200 Euros or so), but just a barrier for most people to even give it a try. Pair that with the snobby etiquette of most clubs and you’ve just about guaranteed that no one in their right mind will want to join the party.

1 Like

As is everything else, golf in Germany is highly regulated… If you want to play, you have to do 2 things: