Preparing for Competitive Matches

So, I’m pretty new to competitive golf, as in, I’ve had no experience in actual match-play, or even stroke-play, at a club, against other members, for money. I did the 4-man team thing at our local simulator over the winter but that’s 1) video-game indoor golf and 2) team competition.

If you know you have a match coming up, how do you prepare leading up to it, the night/day/week before?

Also, let me preface this by stating my 11.4 index which has trended down from 13.2 to start the year. Actual course handicap at my club is 14 which is also trending down from 15. So I got that goin’ for me.

My first match was 3 weeks ago. Up to this point, my game was shaky and I lacked confidence in pretty much all facets. I remembered a few months back I ponied up for David MacKenzie’s “Ultimate Mental Game Training System” so I thought I’d go back and review the material, hoping to find something to calm my mind and give me confidence to face my foe.

Using David’s techniques, I won my match 4 and 3, against a 20-year member who plays to a 4.

Ever since that match, my game has improved and is trending, and I try to keep my mental approach consistent with each shot.

What methods or techniques do you/have you used to find confidence and success in competition?

*Motivation for this post driven by preparation for my next match against a 2 HDCP and past club champion tomorrow at 9am.

1 Like

Prepare for a ton of belly-aching about the strokes you’re getting. Revel in it. Play the heel. Rub shit in at every opportunity.

Also, refer to this thread for some below the belt gems:

https://refuge.nolayingup.com/t/match-play-gamesmanship-thread/8935?u=lazstradamus

@3wiggle

1 Like

After reading through that thread @Lazstradamus I’m thinking you’re likely moonlighting as @ClubProGuy.

Rubbed in the strokes. Dude was done before the first tee. Helped he was also severely worse for the wear. Closed it out on 14.

Thanks for the tips, @Lazstradamus!