Is this golf course good?

There are many of us here at the Refuge, Twitter, Barstool comment sections and other places on the internet who are new to the concept of Golf Course Architecture. I can sympathize with this. Just a few short months ago I couldn’t tell the difference between a Redan and a not-a-Redan. But now, after skimming through a couple of blog posts and listening to a few podcasts, I’m an expert.

Perhaps the most frustrating thing about not being a GCA expert is having no clue whether or not you are playing a good course. I mean, imagine how embarrassing it would be to say that you had fun playing golf on a course that got a 0 on the Doak scale?

Avoid that embarrassment with the helpful chart below, put together by myself and @endangeredspiethies. You may have never designed a golf course, or even read a book on architecture, but now you can happily enjoy golf knowing your course is sound. Further, you can now #engage online, and tell others that the courses that they have played are, in fact, very bad.

The Confidential Guide
How did target golf come to be?
Best of the Refuge 2018

Once you’ve gone through the chart, and know a course is good, feel comfortable using the following terms to describe it: width, angles, contours, shot values, centerline bunkers, options, “I feel like the architect is messing with me,” “well placed hazard,” and “firm and fast.”

If someone invites you onto a bad course, politely decline, and notify them that you’ll reconsider when they cut out some trees and move the greens and fairways a little closer to the hazards. If it’s too late, and you find yourself on a bad course, then just make sure to complain about rough, trees, narrowness, “over-irrigation,” “Augustification,” and ABSOLUTELY say, “I struggle to enjoy myself on a course that doesn’t test me through the bag.”

The “REDAN” watermark really ties the flow chart together.

This chart is absolute shit. Not a single mention of a water fountain. HACKS!