Golfer Who Happens To Be A Sommelier (or the other way around)!

Hey everyone,

At the request of several other members, I’m starting a thread for those interested in asking questions about wine and everything beverage related. I introduced myself in the Professional Networking thread, stating what I do for a living.

A little bit about myself:

I’m a Level 3 Advanced Sommelier in The Court of Master Sommeliers. I work for a popular restaurant group in Chicago, and Ive worked at some great restaurants including Charlie Trotter’s, Sepia, and Grace. My background is in Data Science and Statistics, having been a Quantitative Analyst in my first career. However, wine has always been a passion of mine. I used to spend weekends in the Napa Valley when I was attending graduate school in the Bay Area. I learned a ton about wine and wine making, and always wanted to do something with wine in my life.

Eventually, I got to a point where I could “retire” from that career and venture in to the wine world. I’ve been a happier man ever since! It’s a great career, but working in restaurants doesn’t lead to having the most flexible times to golf. Usually my golf times are on Sunday/Monday, and early mornings during the week before heading to the restaurant.

So, with that being said, feel free to ask any questions related to food and wine!

In the Professional Networking thread, @Breaking88 asked the following:

“Would you say you’ve always had an advanced palate / knowledge level surrounding wine? Or is that something that comes along with studying once you decided this was the route for you?”