Free golf hole?

Hi everyone!

As the name suggests, I am a pastor, currently at a Methodist church just outside San Antonio. I was so moved by this:

At the church we have some unused flat land, an acre or two in total I think? I haven’t measure exactly. It’s a lot people in the apartments next door use to walk their dogs (we have poop bags/cans set up for public use, not only to clean but to encourage “it’s ok to walk your dog here!”).

I moved here 3 months ago and my first week I was out there hitting wedges with shag balls. Now I’m thinking about how cheap/simple it could be to set up a golf hole. Maybe call the local course and see if they have old mats, pins in the cart barn. Would be a free option for people in the neighborhood to have fun. Just wanting to bless people really. Also, I’d probably play it during work…

Would appreciate any feedback, ideas, encouragement. Thanks!

22 Likes

Brother, Have you come to the right place! San Anotonio is a wonderful golf city and home to many great Refugees (like @jbrooks)

I’m sure ppl are going to #GetInvolved but you should peep these threads.

8 Likes

This is awesome man. Good luck, keep us posted!

2 Likes

I’m scheduled to be in SA for a Superintendent tournament in Nov. If you’re still in need, I can bring several old flags and cups to you.
Also, our driving range mats are being switched out in 2021. I can get a few down to you when the switch occurs

3 Likes

That would be great! I should know by late October if I’m still in need of supplies and we can connect.

Are you a super elsewhere in Texas? Also, I’d like to take the moment to #thankasuper

3 Likes

I’m up in the N Tx area. We have a tournament down there on the 8th. We can chat before I head down.
I appreciate the thanks, but I got into the business for the chicks

4 Likes

You don’t have a logo yet?

12 Likes

Good stuff, wish my Methodist church had that growing up. Great community outreach idea. Free grape juice for hole in ones?

2 Likes