10-15 Footers: The Ultimate Rub of the Green

I am new to the Refuge and was scouring over the “Ranger Rick” section and couldn’t find anything that I felt was specific enough to my situation so I am starting a new Topic. I want to pick your guy’s brains about drills/tips to make more 10-15 footers.
Throughout the course of my round I will on average have 5-8 putts at this distance for birdie and make almost none of them. Normally, I would chalk to up to bad putting but once I get inside of 8 feet, my percentage of makes goes up substantially. There has been about a 2 season pattern now of me not being able to make slightly longer putts. The irony of it is I feel I am just as likely to make a putt from 20-30 then I am from 10-15 as inprobable as that sounds. Here are 3 Things I think as to why I battle/have this problem.

1.) I do not play the same course very often, so usually I will misread a putt and not have the local knowledge to jar more of these shots.
2.) 10-15 Footers are statistically hard to make, so the odds really aren’t in my favor to make as many of these as say, an 8 footer.
3.) 10 Feet seems to be the threshold for where my brain switches from making the putt to trying to lag the putt and leave a comfy par coming back.

So I am open to any suggestions or resources that you guys can point me to. Above all else, I know the easy answer is to practice but at times, my practice sessions feel fruitless and I feel as if I have hit a wall in my ability to improve this part of my game. Looking forward to reading what you guys have for me.

1 Like

If you make 1 15 footer a round you are average pretty much

3 Likes

Here’s a pretty active thread on putting tips. You’ll probably get better traction over there.

1 Like

I hate that I missed this one! I was scrolling through and just seeing generic putting ones. Thank you sir!

1 Like

Try to hit them in the hole.

Works for me!

(But seriously, the other topic… yeah.)

Are you Collin Morikawa?